Bonsai
Native IFC authoring inside Blender. Formerly BlenderBIM.
At a glance
Best for
- Native IFC authoring
- Open-source and budget-conscious teams
- Researchers and OpenBIM developers
Key capabilities
- IFC4 support
- IFC4.3 support
- BCF issue exchange
- IDS validation
- Open API
- Python scripting
- Works offline
- Open source
- Air-gap capable
Quick facts
- Latest version
- 0.8.3Verified
- Last updated
- 21 Sept 2026Verified
- Platforms
- Win, Mac, LinuxVerified
- Pricing
- Open sourceVendor reported
- Deployment
- Desktop (Blender add-on)Verified
- Licence
- GPL-3.0Verified
- Free trial
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 19 Sept 2026
- Developer
- IfcOpenShell communityVendor reported
OpenBIM
Standards support- IFC 2x3
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 8 Sept 2026
- IFC4
- SupportedSupportedVendor reported· 3 Sept 2026
- IFC4.3
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 28 Sept 2026
- BCF
- SupportedSupportedVendor reported· 26 Sept 2026
- IDS
- SupportedSupportedVendor reported· 3 Sept 2026
- bSDD
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 8 Sept 2026
- COBie
- SupportedSupportedVendor reported· 25 Sept 2026
- MVD
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 23 Aug 2026
Data & privacy
- Cloud
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 20 Sept 2026
- Local processing
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 18 Sept 2026
- Offline
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 18 Sept 2026
- No account required
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 23 Sept 2026
- Self-hosted
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 26 Sept 2026
- Open source
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 26 Sept 2026
- Real-time collaboration
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 22 Sept 2026
- Data residency
- Local onlyVerified
Cloud Infrastructure & Data Residency
Public infrastructure and security disclosures for Bonsai.
Vendor research pending. Missing information does not imply insecurity or lack of support.
Vendor statements are not independent certification. Organisation-level credentials and hosting-provider credentials do not automatically certify this product. Residency may apply to only specific services or data types.
- Cloud hosting provider
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Primary server provider
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Data centre / server locations
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Available data residency options
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Customer hosting-region selection
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- ISO 27001 certification
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- SOC 2 compliance
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- GDPR compliance
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Encryption at rest
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Encryption in transit
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Single Sign-On (SSO)
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA)
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Customer-managed encryption keys
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Air-gapped deployment
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- On-premise deployment
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Government, defence / sovereign cloud
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
Trust centre, security & infrastructure documentation
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
Last editorial review: Not yet reviewed · Last automated source check: Not yet checked
Cybersecurity & Compliance
Security information not disclosed for this product. Absence of information here does not imply a lack of security — it means no reliable public evidence has been reviewed yet.
Automation & APIs
- API
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 23 Sept 2026
- Python
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 22 Aug 2026
- C#
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 31 Aug 2026
- JavaScript
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 8 Sept 2026
- Dynamo
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 22 Aug 2026
- Grasshopper
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 25 Sept 2026
- Revit integration
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 1 Sept 2026
- Rhino integration
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 13 Sept 2026
Release history
- v0.8.3Release21 Sept 2026released version 0.8.3
- Drawing generation improvements
- IDS authoring UI
- Blender 5.2 compatibility
Members-only discussion
Sign in to read and join the conversation on this software page.
