Speckle
Open-source data platform connecting AEC applications.
At a glance
Best for
- Computational designers
- Workflow automation and data exchange
Key capabilities
- IFC4 support
- Open API
- Python scripting
- Cloud features
- Real-time collaboration
- Open source
Quick facts
- Latest version
- 3.4Verified
- Last updated
- 23 Sept 2026Verified
- Platforms
- Win, Mac, Linux, WebVerified
- Pricing
- FreemiumVendor reported
- Deployment
- Cloud / self-hostedVerified
- Licence
- Apache-2.0Verified
- Free trial
- Not supportedNot supportedVendor reported· 10 Sept 2026
- Developer
- Speckle SystemsVerified
OpenBIM
Standards support- IFC 2x3
- SupportedSupportedVendor reported· 24 Aug 2026
- IFC4
- SupportedSupportedVendor reported· 27 Aug 2026
- IFC4.3
- PartialPartialCommunity reported· 23 Sept 2026
- BCF
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 11 Sept 2026
- IDS
- Not supportedNot supportedVendor reported· 4 Sept 2026
- bSDD
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 23 Sept 2026
- COBie
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 31 Aug 2026
- MVD
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 22 Aug 2026
Data & privacy
- Cloud
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 26 Aug 2026
- Local processing
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 7 Sept 2026
- Offline
- Not supportedNot supportedVerified· 1 Sept 2026
- No account required
- Not supportedNot supportedVendor reported· 8 Sept 2026
- Self-hosted
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 15 Sept 2026
- Open source
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 28 Aug 2026
- Real-time collaboration
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 27 Sept 2026
- Data residency
- See vendor docsVerified
Cloud Infrastructure & Data Residency
Distinguishes Speckle hosted SaaS from its self-hosted open-source server. Hosted security controls do not automatically apply to self-hosted deployments.
Vendor statements are not independent certification. Organisation-level credentials and hosting-provider credentials do not automatically certify this product. Residency may apply to only specific services or data types.
- Cloud hosting provider
Hosted SaaS or self-hosted server; managed hosting vendor not established from this security page
Vendor documented · Self-hosted option; hosted provider undisclosed · Reviewed 2026-10-01
Source evidence
supported by an open-source core that organizations can also self-host
Official vendor documentation- Primary server provider
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Data centre / server locations
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Available data residency options
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Customer hosting-region selection
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- ISO 27001 certification
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- SOC 2 compliance
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- GDPR compliance
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Encryption at rest
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Encryption in transit
HTTPS/TLS on hosted services; operator configures TLS for self-hosted deployments
Vendor documented · Product/service-level · Reviewed 2026-10-01
Source evidence
Traffic to and from app.speckle.systems and its associated services uses HTTPS/TLS.
Official vendor documentation- Single Sign-On (SSO)
OIDC Single Sign-On on Enterprise plan; guests are not subject to SSO enforcement
Vendor documented · Product/service-level · Reviewed 2026-10-01
Source evidence
Single Sign-On via OIDC for organizations with their own identity provider.
Official vendor documentation- Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA)
MFA delegated to the configured identity provider, not separately enforced by Speckle
Vendor documented · Identity-provider integration; requires appropriate provider configuration · Reviewed 2026-10-01
Source evidence
Multi-factor authentication is delegated to the configured identity provider rather than enforced separately by Speckle.
Official vendor documentation- Customer-managed encryption keys
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- Air-gapped deployment
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
- On-premise deployment
Self-hosted open-source server supported; organisation controls its infrastructure
Vendor documented · Self-hosted server; operator responsible for security · Reviewed 2026-10-01
Source evidence
The self-hosted form gives organizations infrastructure-level control.
Official vendor documentation- Government, defence / sovereign cloud
Information not publicly disclosed by vendor.
Trust centre, security & infrastructure documentation
Last editorial review: 2026-10-01 · Last automated source check: Not yet checked
Sources rechecked every 30 days. Changed evidence is withheld; inaccessible sources are retried after seven days, and previously reviewed evidence expires after 45 days without reconfirmation. This checks published evidence, not certificate validity or legal compliance.
Cybersecurity & Compliance
Security information not disclosed for this product. Absence of information here does not imply a lack of security — it means no reliable public evidence has been reviewed yet.
Automation & APIs
- API
- SupportedSupportedVendor reported· 29 Aug 2026
- Python
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 10 Sept 2026
- C#
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 7 Sept 2026
- JavaScript
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 24 Aug 2026
- Dynamo
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 10 Sept 2026
- Grasshopper
- SupportedSupportedVerified· 26 Sept 2026
- Revit integration
- SupportedSupportedVendor reported· 22 Sept 2026
- Rhino integration
- SupportedSupportedVendor reported· 12 Sept 2026
Release history
- v3.4Release23 Sept 2026released version 3.4
- New Archicad connector
- IFC import speed-up
- Automate functions GA
Members-only discussion
Sign in to read and join the conversation on this software page.
